Lee Aplin

My name is Lee Aplin

I am a third year Web and New Media student at UCE, Birmingham. I am 22 years old and have been studying web design for about 4 years now.

My main interest is in Online Music, and I am hoping to develop a new music application or website, which can move the field of Online Music on somehow. To begin this project I will need to expand my knowledge of Web 2.0 and PHP.

The main appeal of Web 2.0 is the highly rich interactive content which it utilises. By giving the user the opportunity to fully customise the appearance of pages on the website, the overall experience is more rewarding and personal. Websites such as Myspace and Facebook are particularly popular, and execute this interactivity very well.

My biggest inspiration for this is the online music community Last.FM, and I hope to develop something similar to this, but also innovative or different. While Last.FM is very good at showing people what music users have listened to, and linking people with similar tastes together using the Neighbour function, there are things missing from the website which I think could give scope to a competing website of similar nature. I plan to expand on these ideas in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

