Interview with a media professional

As part of my assignment I contacted a number of professionals to see what they think about flash. I send them the following letter:

My name is Dorota Jablonska
I am a third year Web and New Media student at UCE, Birmingham. I am 24 years old and have been studying web design for about 3 years now.
I am currently participating in the Web and New Media practice class. I have already produced a number of products in Flash. I aim to learn more into Flash in order for me to improve on the skills I already obtain.
You can learn more about me and my class mates more if you click on the link below where you find our group blog.

https://webandnewmedia.wordpress.com

As my second assignment of the module I intend to create a flash game. The game will include plenty of Action Scripts so hopefully I will manage to grasp everything and come out with some good results.

As part of my assignment I have to find someone in the industry relevant to my area of interest and interview this person.

I thought that you may be able to help me? I have a few very short questions for you, so if you’ve got a spare 10 minutes then please take a look at them

· How did you get into Flash?

· Have you created any project or websites which I could take a look at?

· Can you suggest me any other examples which demonstrates the new exciting flash developments?

· Can you recommend any websites, books, other resources for a better and successful work in Flash????

· What skills are important in the industry in your opinion???

· I intend to create a flash game similar to the Harry Potter one (Available on http://www.flash-game.net/game/2872/harry-potter.html), Have you got any tips for me?

Many thanks for your time!!!!!

I look forward to receiving your feedback.

 

As a result I got a very interesting respond from Yates Buckley, the technical director  unit9 ltd.

  • How did you get into Flash?

– from the earliest version of futuresplash, in ’97 this was a good way to create animated content on the web that was very light

  • Have you created any project or websites which I could take a look at?

– many, please refer to unit9.com — particular favorites are the jobs we did for clinic, honda and adobe creative mind.

www.thesecondline.com

www.unit9.com/grrrgame

www.unit9.com/creativemind

  • Can you suggest me any other examples which demonstrates the new exciting flash developments?

look at Andre Michelle’s work, Tink’s blog, papervision3d, keep your eyes peeled on osflash and learn what you can from there.

  • Can you recommend any websites, books, other resources for a better and successful work in Flash?

Flash as3 is not a mature programming language, I recommend to decide if you are an interactive designer or a proper programmer and train on this basis.

The programmer should learn about: UML, design patterns, refactoring, should know some different computer languages with some familiarity

(I recommend python or perl, PHP, Actionscript, and some C++ or Java). You need to urgently get work experience with complicated large code bases and survive this.

After this you will have a very successful career.. but it is intense and requires precision and dedication.

The interface designer should learn a bit of flash, enough to make interface elements work well and should be familiar with timeline, animation etc. all the quick

dirty tricks one can use to make a nice interface. With flex a lot of new problems/solutions have emerged, you should become familiar with this.

  • What skills are important in the industry in your opinion?

Dedication to finish work at a high quality.. there is no point in just doing something, you have to do it excellently and people will note.

Learn about model view controller structure – get the online subscription to oreilly and read all about cs3 (ignore previous flash versions).

Create all the graphical elements separately and then work on the logic.. It is important to understand the fundamentals of MVC for first thing.

I also got a respond from Carla Diana- a creative professional.

  • How did you get into Flash?

I started out as an engineer and industrial (product) designer. I had done a lot of programming as a kid (BASIC, C, Pascal, etc.) and when I began rendering images for my product designs I discovered interactive multimedia by using Macromedia Director. I enjoyed being able to bring objects to life through sound, image and code.

  •   Have you created any project or websites which I could take a look at?

I have a portfolio site online at http://www.carladiana.com

  • Can you suggest me any other examples which demonstrates the new exciting flash developments?

There is a lot of great work going on. I will be lecturing at a conference in Brighton, England in November called Flash on the Beach. If you look at some of the speakers and events there and at the other Flash conferences, you will see lots of different kinds of work.

  • Can you recommend any websites, books, other resources for a better and successful work in Flash????

The O’Reilly books are always good for technical help. Other than that, there are lots of books and conferences. The Flash Forward and Flash in the Can conference are great places to get inspired and gather information. I will be featured in a new book coming out called “Pros on Flash” by Doug Easterly.
 

  • What skills are important in the industry in your opinion???  

I am not sure what industry to which you refer. “Flash” is just a tool and not an industry. There are many industries that utilize Flash for visualization. As a designer, it is important to be able to draw, brainstorm, and communicate both verbally and visually.

Content and story are the most important elements. Being clear on these will drive all your design and technical decisions.

 

1 Comment »

  1. […] EmmaRiddle wrote an interesting post today on Interview with a media professionalHere’s a quick excerptI intend to create a flash game similar to the Harry Potter one (Available on http://www.flash-game.net/game/2872/harry-potter.html), Have you got any tips for me? Many thanks for your time!!!!! I look forward to receiving your feedback … […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

