Proposal – Revised

To start thinking about a new project I thought about the near future, and what skills I could develop to help with the work I would be doing in the coming months – Most importantly, my third year project which will be taking shape over the next semester. I also re-visited the assignment brief to check what would be an acceptable project.

My new project therefore will be to develop and advance my CSS skills as this is an essential, and to some, quite a basic part of good web design, yet still remains an area that I personally feel I could improve on. 

New Project Outline

To briefly outline my project, I am creating 2/3 separate HTML pages which will all display the same content (this will be content about myself, in a portfolio/CV style) yet will all look different as a result of CSS. Furthermore I shall use a short piece of PHP Code with these pages that will allow a user to click on a link to display the content in the alternative styles without having to load up a separate window.

This is similar to http://www.csszengarden.com/ but instead will be used to present not only my personal CSS skills, but also myself as a web-designer on the whole. Through using CSS to design different ways to present my website I can consequently represent my own personality and individuality in a number of ways.  

Target Users

Although for such a project I won’t have a specific target user, I would hope that by presenting myself and my work in such a way that I would especially attract the attention of employers and potential clients.

Benefits of CSS Presentation

To help with my project I brought the Mike McGrath ‘CSS in easy steps’ book, which has become a handy and useful reference that covers all areas of CSS. For instance in the book the advantages of CSS are initially pointed out, and I have decided to include them within this brief proposal to further support my project’s viability.

‘Advantages of CSS Presentation:

  • Greater styling possibilities than HTML – allowing you to specify text colour, create surrounding borders etc.
  • Easier to use than HTML – allowing you to set or modify the appearance of elements with just one rule.
  • Wider flexibility than HTML – allowing you to create a set of rules in a single centralized style sheet that can be deployed across multiple web pages to provide a consistent website feel.
  • Smarter than HTML – allowing you to easily provide special styles that intelligently override general style presentation.
  • More control than HTML – allowing you to control the appearance of certain parts of the interface, such as the cursor.
  • Better practicality than HTML – allowing you to produce web pages of smaller file sizes, which download faster.
  • Ready for the future – XML may replace HTML as the language of the web, and CSS can readily style XML elements.’  (McGrath, 2005)
Leave a Reply

