update

After a frustrating week of configuring my macbook with parallels, I can now begin production, using the software needed for design of my draft mock-up. I have spent recent time since last weeks class understanding PHP, however in need of further secondary resources. Therefore, I shall shall visit the university library after todays class, in search for some relevant and appropriate literature.

In preparation for next weeks class, I shall begin development on my pitch, completing a rough mock-up to co-inside with my proposal, thus meeting the requirements of the directed study. I shall look into the software of XAMPP, downloading a package from the following recommended website; http://www.keitr.com

As quoted:

“Officially, XAMPP’s designers intended it for use only as a development tool, to allow website designers and programmers to test their work on their own computers without any access to the Internet. To make this as easy as possible, many important security features are disabled by default. In practice, however, XAMPP is sometimes used to actually serve web pages on the world wide web.  A special tool is provided to password-protect the most important parts of the package. XAMPP also provides support for creating and manipulating databases in MYSQL and SQLite among others”

This program is released under a public license and acts as a free, easy-to-use web server. Fortunately, XAMPP is available for Mac OS X and is ideal for the development of work I shall be starting. I will post a blog update on my progress during next week!

Peace

http://www.jamesarctic.blogspot.com

http://www.myspace.com/arcticuk

Leave a Reply

