Project Overview

My project ‘WordPress Theme’ is well underway, so I thought it was time for an overview of were I’m at and what’s to come.

My theme was meant solely for this blog at the beginning of the project. But as I started to look into other collaborative blogs I found that other collaborative blogs share the same problems as our blog. – No real overview of the latest posts and long columns of categories.

Often the volume of postings on these blogs makes it difficult to quickly get an overview of the latest entries, – and even harder to find the latest from your favourite author.

My proposal is now to create a theme aimed at collaborative blogs. The front page will be very different from the independent blog posts as it will serve as an overview page. It will show extracts from the latest posts in two columns making it easier to see without having to scroll as much. The categories are placed horizontally at the top providing quick access to the navigation.

Every author will have the possibility to upload a photo that will be shown next to their posts. This will give visitors a quick visual reference when scanning the page for posts from a specific author. Underneath the posts on the front page will be a horizontal sidebar. The widgets that normally go in the sidebar have been moved underneath the main content; I have changed the layout to be horizontal instead of the normal vertical sidebar.

The single pages are more like normal blog post pages. They will have a two column layout and the comments beneath the main content. I have done this mainly because people are familiar with this style which will make usability easier. Secondly there won’t be as much content to deal with on individual pages. Its main purpose is to isolate the single post and let people comment on it.

Colour Scheme

The colour scheme of the website is a chapter on its own. I really struggled to come up with a decent colour scheme. I even at one point thought of providing different colour schemes and let the user select which one to use. I knew from the beginning that I wanted black text on white background no matter what. As this is theme it has to fit many different web sites and a lot of different content. A white background ensures that most images and content will stand out on a bright background that gives good contrast.

The colour scheme went from brownish to green before I finally settled for a variation in blue. I will spare you all of my hair tearing thoughts of the process and just show the different mocks I came up with.

1mockup 2green-mockup1 3green-mockup-single 4blue-mockup 5blue-mockup-single

/Kasper – on Twitter and Delicious

Leave a Reply

